Roommate Wanted

Private Furnished Room in Great Marina Apartment

This is a comfortable, relatively quiet, drama-free home that feels like a “home”, not just an apartment.  The Chestnut Street location is a brilliant if you love being within blocks of the Bay, walking distance from the beautiful trees and hiking trails of the Presidio, with a short bus-ride downtown.

I am a 44 year old Meditation Teacher and Spirituality Coach seeking to replace my current roommate who is moving closer to work, with a male or female roommate for this cozy, Marina apartment.  I have courageously left my corporate consulting career to fulfill my true heart’s desire which is to teach meditation and help people find inner happiness and their soul purpose.  Sharing my apartment allows me to financially make this dream job come true without leaving this amazing neighborhood.  Hopefully it will also help someone else out as well, who might benefit from a fully furnished apartment that feels like a home and is a great place to unwind and recharge after work.

To be clear, this is a unique roommate situation.  You will have a large, fully furnished private bedroom with large closet, desk, side tables and clothing armoire.  I have a small semi-private, tastefully partitioned “bedroom” off the living room that is barely noticeable.  We share the rest of the apartment (living room, kitchen, full bath).  The home is really ours to share and you can have as much privacy or communal time as you like.  This is technically a 1 BR, but before you rule it out, please see the PHOTOS TAB and/or come by for a visit because you will be surprised how it feels just the same as sharing a 2 BR.  I am very zen-like, and even camped in the mountains for 10 weeks one time so minimalism works fine for me.  And if I need private time, I just make sure to fit it in during your daytime work hours or while occasionally house sitting for friends.  It is a small price to pay for doing what I love.

 

Available for move-in: flexible
Room Type: Large private room
Term: Month-to-month sublease
Prefer long term 6+ months but short term OK for the right person with 30-day notice.
Total Roommates: 2 (including me)

About your room:
*Fully Furnished private room with Queen size bed, end tables, clothing armoir, desk, chair and full size closet.
*Super quiet, interior room with double pane windows.
*Black-out drapes if you like to sleep in a cave.

About my room:

*My bed resides in a small, tastefully partitioned area off the living room (my space needs are small because I am so zen-like!).
*My “office/desk” and personal items are in a closed armoir in the living room and my clothes are in the hall closet.
*My space is tidy and minimal which suits me fine as it helps me focus.

About the shared area:
*We share the living room, kitchen and bathroom, including all appliances and utensils.  This means we can watch tv together, cook together, etc. and you always have your room to retreat too.  My privacy needs are achieved during the daytime, when you are at work.  I also house-sit occasionally for friends which gives me any needed alone time.
*We also share cleaning responsibilities or if you prefer you can use a housekeeper for your turn, I have one that only charges $65.

About the apartment and amenities:
*Fully furnished living room and kitchen with dishwasher, garbage disposal, cooking utensils, flatware, etc.
*Rear unit with large windows and very little street noise and quiet long term neighbors.
*Washer and dryer in building.  Laundry service just down the block.
*Basic Cable TV, high-speed internet
* *Street Parking only* *
*Storage: bedroom only.  No external storage available except possibly for one bicycle.
*Bus Lines: 30, 30x, to North Beach/Union Square/Financial District/BART/SOMA/Caltrain, 42 to Fillmore District, Lower Haight/Potrero Hill, 43 to Upper Haight/Golden Gate Park
*Community Park across the street with tennis courts, basketball courts and golf driving range.
*5 block walk to the Bay front/Boat Marina/Marina Green intramural fields/Golden Gate Bridge Promenade and 10 min walk to Presidio Park/hiking trails.

About Me
I am female, 44 years old, presently single and work as a Spirituality Coach, Business Coach and Meditation Teacher.  I teach mindfulness, visualization and active meditation techniques to people so they can focus, be more creative and be less stressed at work and home.  I also work with people on their inner development and how they deal with relationships, health issues, depression or anxiety. Because I had a 15 year career as a Marketing Consultant in the Financial industry, I also combine business coaching with the mindfulness training for my business clients.

In case you are wondering if it would be weird to live with someone who studies and teaches spirituality, please know that I am a pretty normal person that just gets a kick out of helping people.  I try not to take it all too seriously and seek to have fun while helping other people lighten up and do the same.  Prior to this career, I was a Database Marketing Consultant in the Financial Industry and therefore have a very practical side too.  You should see how this girl can organize a closet!  Ironically, my first introduction to meditation was from the CEO of the first bank I ever worked at 20 years ago.  I have been studying meditation, personal development and the intuitive arts ever since and feel like it is my path and my dream to continue to learn and teach this to others in a way that is appropriate for our time.  If you are interested, click here for my professional profile.

I generally work from home M-F doing client sessions and classes by phone (rarely have clients at home) and arrange my work day around my roommates work schedule so I can take advantage of the quiet time.  In the future I hope to travel for speaking engagements but my business is still evolving.  I like working in different places so I occasionally spend time writing or reading materials for work at the local café or in the Presidio when the weather is nice.  I also occasionally house-sit for friends to get out of the house and find new perspective.

When not working I like to get out in nature at the nearby Marina Green/Golden Gate Bridge Promenade, Presidio Hiking Trails, or up in Marin and Sonoma counties for longer hikes and camping.  I also enjoy meeting friends in the city for coffee, dinner, dancing and an occasional movie.  I sometimes watch a little TV in the evenings, but try to keep it at a minimum.  I do not smoke cigarettes or 420.  I also generally do not drink alcohol except for an occasional glass when social etiquette requires.  This is not out of any moral position, but rather because as my career might suggest, I seek awareness and mastery of the mind (yes, this is what I call fun! Ha Ha) and alcohol has the opposite effect on me.  I still laugh and have fun, just without the drama and hang-over!  Ha Ha.

As my job suggests, I am a good communicator and quiet intuitive.  I like to think I am easy going, accepting and social.  I tend to treat my roommates like extended family in a helpful, caring way, but have respect for individual space and privacy when desired.  I seek a roommate who is also comfortable in their own skin, has humility and puts honesty up at the top of their list of characteristics.  I am very tidy because it seems to help keep the energy happy and peaceful in the home and would love to have someone who doesn’t mind being thoughtful in this area.  At the end of the day I try not to let things get to me.  Communication and putting yourself in the other’s shoes seems to be the winning combination for living together.

About you:
*It is important that you work outside of the house and have a steady schedule.  This is because my telephone coaching requires a super-quiet environment and I will be scheduling clients during your daytime work hours so the evenings can be a no-work zone.
*You are a party of one.  You will not be bringing anyone to live with you, outside of an occasional long weekend guest of no more than 4-5 days (because I will have to reschedule clients).
*You don’t have a lot of furniture or are willing to store it elsewhere while you are living here.
*You are not into partying, illicit or prescription drugs and you don’t drink more than an occasional glass or two of alcohol.
*You like a comfortable, relatively quiet, drama-free home that feels like a “home”, not just an apartment.
*You are financially stable, emotionally intelligent, honest and communicative.
*You do not have any pets (sorry!).

Fees:
Rent: $1,660.00 per month
Includes everything: rent, water, gas, electric, wireless DSL and basic cable TV
Security Deposit $650.00
Final Exit Cleaning: $85
Total Move-in Costs: (First month rent, last month, security deposit, exit cleaning): $4,055.00*

*credit card payment available all or a portion of the move-in costs, if you cover the Paypal processing fee.

Optional costs:
Cleaning Fee (in lieu of your turn for bi-weekly cleaning): $65.00 per month/$85 with laundry to housekeeper
Additional cable fees for premium channels: at cost

Please contact me through the craigslist ad if you think we might be a match.  ;)  Jeri

PS. DONT FORGET TO CHECK OUT THE PHOTOS!

http://sfmarinasublet.wordpress.com/photos/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.